DIY Botanical Print Wall Decor

This spring I’m seeing a lot of botanical designs, mostly as vintage inspired wall art. I love this trend as it adds pops of color to any room. Plus, I’m a sucker for anything vintage.etsy gnosispicturearchive

elle decor

hgtv photo by rachel whyte

FullSizeRender (4)

 

I decided to use this as inspiration for my own decor. Digging through the boxes of books I acquired with the house I discovered the Golden Nature Guide to Familiar American Wildflowers, published in 1950. The illustrations were perfect to create my own botanical wall décor.

FullSizeRender (47)

My kitchen nook has a very large plain white wall, and for months I had been debating what to put there. The colors in the botanical prints would pop against the white walls, but it is also a nice transition from the kitchen nook to the garden.

First, I did a little research to make sure I wasn’t ripping apart a rare or valuable book. Next, using a craft knife I cut away the binding to loosen and pull out the pages. I decided to group the prints together by color, and picked out my favorite blue, pink, and yellow/orange prints. I put them in black float frames purchased at Michael’s.

IMG_5516

I went back and forth if I should keep the descriptions of the flowers at the bottom of the page, or cut them off and just display the flower print. I decided to keep the descriptions for now. I kind of like that you can tell that the prints came from a guide book.

FullSizeRender (3)

FullSizeRender (1)

The great thing about this is that I have hundreds of flowers prints leftover and with these frames I can switch out the prints anytime I feel like a change.

Leave a Reply

