Unplugged

It’s finally happening! I’m getting cable and internet installed this weekend. Yes, you read that correctly. I haven’t had cable or internet for the past year. All my friends had the same reaction…OMG, how do you live?!

No longer will I have to fight for a table at the local coffeehouse. I can blog whenever I want, instead of furiously typing between loads of laundry at my parent’s house. LOL, I don’t have a washer/dryer either. Also on the list, but one thing at a time folks.

IMG_4739

You might be wondering, why did it take so long? Attempting to have cable and internet installed in a house that has never had it is an interesting process. It took a good two and a half months to clear up the confusion with the cable company.

Cable Company: Your address doesn’t exist in our system or map. Are you in a new development?

Me: No, it’s just a really old house that has never had service. Ever.

Cable Company: Really? Wow, well it will take several days to register your address in our system. Call back to schedule service.

I called back several days later to schedule and had the same exact conversation. I did get a little further the third time around as I was able to schedule an installment date. This was promptly cancelled one week later because my address doesn’t exist in the system. *sigh*

I eventually gave up calling and physically went to the cable company store to clear things up. I thought maybe, just maybe I would get better service in person. No such luck. It took another month of my following up with the store manager to FINALLY get my address registered and schedule an installment date.

I had the cable professionally pre-wired throughout the house, so all the cable company has to do is bring the wires from the pole into the house. Fingers crossed I’ll be on the couch binge watching Real Housewives episodes by this time tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

