One Year!

I can’t believe it, but it has been one year since I started my blog and renovations on the house! Looking back on some of my first posts I can’t help but laugh and wonder, WTF was I thinking?! If you’re new to the blog and want to read about renovations from the very beginning, check out my first post here. Truth be told, I would totally do it again. To celebrate I’m doing a (long overdue) room reveal post!

The spare bedroom on the second floor wasn’t in bad shape. The walls had some cracks and it was filled with clutter, but nothing a little patching, paint and clean up couldn’t fix. I decided to paint it the same color as the rest of the house, Pearly White.

IMG_3014

The real challenge was furnishing and decorating it with what was left behind in the house. I didn’t want to splurge on new furniture, and decided I would just have to make do with what I had.

IMG_3046.JPG

I moved a dresser, vanity, end table and bed I found from the master bedroom into the spare. The brown tones looked old and dated, and the vanity had some damage. I decided to paint the furniture black to make the room cohesive and update the look. Check out the before/after blog post for the dresser and vanity.

dresseredit

vanityedit

Cleaning the room out and giving it a fresh coat of paint alone made a world of difference. It was fun, although challenging, to use only items I had left over to decorate.

IMG_4952

The former owner loved her linens, and had several boxes. The Matelasse bed cover was absolutely beautiful and I decided to use it in the spare bedroom (after a good wash and bleach of course).

IMG_4954

I noticed using vinyl records and albums as wall decor has made a comeback recently. In the basement, I found vinyl records dating as early as 1903 that I thought would look great hanging above the dresser.

IMG_4957

I found an old mirror in the third floor closet, which got a coat of black paint as well. It’s the perfect size for above the vanity.

IMG_4963

Now that the spare bedroom is complete, its time to move on to the final room on the second floor, the office!

3 thoughts on “One Year!

  1. Well, I just read your entire blog, this afternoon!!! What an amazing buy you got with the home and contents and your renovations are awesome!! Love what you have done to your home and your vision!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

