Repurposed Vintage Trunk

There are two items that I can never resist buying when I’m out looking for deals. Vintage trunks and vanities. Case in point, this vanity I purchased two weeks ago at ReStore. Did I need it? Absolutely not, but it was on sale, so I took it as a sign that it was meant to be mine.

This was really too cool to pass up. Look at that awesome detail!

My trunk obsession started when I purchased this flat top trunk from Second Chances and restored it.

So whenever I was out and spotted either of these items I bought them. Turns out the former homeowner liked trunks as well because there were four left behind in the house. Add the three I had stockpiled myself and well, you get the drift. I had to figure out what to do with all these trunks!

I toyed around with several ideas. Maybe I could paint them? Meh, too boring. Maybe I could glue aluminum pieces on the trunks like the Restoration Hardware ones I fancy? No, too complicated. Mod Podge antique maps onto it? Nah, too overdone and cheesy.

img_4559

At my last visit to ReStore they had bins upon bins of wallpaper. Designer rolls too! Plymouth Wallpaper Furnishing & Gifts located in Catonsville had closed it’s doors and donated their stock.

img_4548

I was disappointed I didn’t find any grasscloth for my dining room, but I didn’t walk away empty handed. After several minutes of digging I came across this awesome pattern. As soon as I saw it I knew it would be perfect for my trunks! It had this upscale vintage vibe, plus the neutral tone allowed it to blend with any decor I had in the house. I had just enough for one trunk.

img_4555

My contractor, aka my Dad, injured himself on the job and per doctor’s orders could not put any weight on his foot for several weeks. After two weeks, he was bored out of his mind and offered to help out with some of the smaller projects I was working on. I’m sure he instantly regretted doing so when I gave him the trunk and wallpaper and told him what my plans were. After a “you need to stop buying junk” lecture (which always falls on deaf ears), he begrudgingly agreed to do it. 

He measured the trunk, cut the wallpaper to size, and used an X-Acto knife to cut around the hardware. Next, the wallpaper was glued to the trunk using wallpaper adhesive. Once it dried, he painted the trunk’s hardware black.

fullsizerender-58

fullsizerender-59

The results exceeded my expectations, and I was blown away how well it turned out! I think even he was pleasantly surprised himself.

Much to my Dad’s dismay, I found two more rolls of the same wallpaper. I’d like to use it on another trunk and stack them to create an end table for my couch.  Will post the final result when its complete.

Thanks Dad! Amazing job, as always!

One thought on “Repurposed Vintage Trunk

Leave a Reply

