All Gold Everything

If you’ve been following my blog its no secret that I’m a little infatuated with painting things gold. The hardware on my office desk, multiple desk accessories, and if I’m being completely honest, several other items I haven’t blogged about yet. You would think I would be sick of it by now, right? NOPE!

oprah

Which brings me to my next DIY project, golden books! I’ve been on the look out for decor and books for the built in shelves that wrap around the front of the living room.

img_4134

I came across these fabulous gold accent books, but the average price started around $37.99 and up. One site even had a series of gold books for over $240…on sale! Yikes!

 

 

I had boxes of books just collecting dust, so I decided to DIY my own decorative books. I picked out five books that were about the same size to use for my project. My first reaction was to spray paint them gold. Shocker. However, after thinking about it for a minute I decided against it. The painter’s tape might not cover well, paint could get on the pages, the letters would bleed through the paint etc. So I went with Plan B, scrapbook paper.

I went to Michael’s and picked out a few scrapbook pages I liked with a gold woodgrain pattern. Gold Woodgrain Scrapbook Paper by Recollections for $1.99 (it was actually cheaper since I used a 50% off coupon). I wanted the pattern to match, but mixing up the scrapbook design is a great way to add some variety.

fullsizerender-16

Several weeks ago I was introduced to Mod Podge. Life changer! How did I go so long without this!? If you’ve never heard of Mod Podge or are unsure how to use it, check out this video on YouTube that I found quite helpful.

I measured and cut the scrapbook paper to fit each book. Next I took a foam brush and slathered the Mod Podge on one side of the book, placed the scrapbook paper on it and laid it flat on a table with a heavy book on top. I let it sit for 15 minutes, then I repeated the same steps on the other side of the book.

img_4517

After the Mod Podge dried I arranged them on my shelf. I’m thrilled with my fancy new accent books, and the fact I spent less than $5!

fullsizerender-18

fullsizerender-17

i-love-gold-austin-powers-meme-15

One thought on “All Gold Everything

Leave a Reply

