Upcycled Target Desk- Gross to Glamour

I am super excited that my new house has so much space, but at the same time I have to furnish it! I decided to turn the third bedroom on the second floor into an office. Not surprisingly, the large brown desk I’ve had since middle school did not fit in with the design or color scheme I had in mind. I’ve been going for a midcentury modern look throughout the house, so I decided to continue with that style for the office.

Furnish an entire room on a limited budget? Challenge accepted! Honestly, even if I had a limitless budget I would still troll thrift and recycled material stores for furniture and projects. It’s so much fun!

Perusing Goodwill one Saturday I came across this Target Campaign desk. It fit in perfectly with the look I was going for, but I wasn’t a fan of the color. Target calls it Midtone. I call it boring. Besides, several areas were scuffed and needed a fresh coat of paint anyway. Other than a few cosmetic issues the piece was in great condition. Normally the stuff I buy is falling apart…literally.

img_4614

I was shocked when I saw that Goodwill was selling it for $35! Not only was it an amazing price, but it was currently retailing at Target for $149.99! I saw a woman eyeing MY desk from across the store, so I instantly ran to the checkout counter and paid for it. Sold! Huzzah!

Since this piece needed minimal work, all I had to do was give it a light sanding and painted it white. I sprayed the hardware a gorgeous gold to give it some pizazz. Voila! A stunning new piece for the total cost of $39!

fullsizerender-10

Leave a Reply

