Furniture Upgrade on a Budget- Vanity and Dresser

My entire budget is being spent on renovations, so I don’t have much left over for furniture or décor. I kept some of the furniture that was left behind in the house, regardless of the style or condition, to see if I could make it work with my modern decor.

I tackled decorating the second floor spare bedroom first, and decided to use a blue vanity that was left behind in the master bedroom. Large chunks of wood were missing in several areas, that unfortunately even wood putty couldn’t fix, but I loved the design and claw feet of the piece.

img_4350

img_4351

The damage was extensive, so I wood puttied what I could and painted the piece black. I painted it black to match the rest of the furniture in the room, but it also made the damage a little less noticeable. I kept the handles, but replacing the hardware is a quick and inexpensive way to update or change the look of a piece.

fullsizerender-2

fullsizerender-3

vanityedit

I also kept a dresser in the room. Unlike the vanity it was in great condition, but the brown color looked dated. I painted it black to match color scheme of the room.

fullsizerender

fullsizerender-1

dresseredit

I plan to paint the bed as well, and incorporate some of the vintage items I found in the house for wall décor. Two pieces down and only a few more to go. Spare bedroom reveal coming soon!

Leave a Reply

