Kitchen Reveal- Part I

If you recall the original kitchen was just terrible. It was a hodgepodge of multi colored wood and metal cabinets. Some missing doors, drawers and handles. The walls were a mixture of peeling blue wallpaper, wooden paneling, a lovely green color (note the sarcasm) and an aluminum backsplash with several missing pieces. The floor comprised of dingy vinyl tiles, most of which had been ripped up to deal with my termite problem. The drop ceiling was also discolored with whole sections missing. I found out that the oven was broken and leaking gas in the house, and the refrigerator matched the avocado green walls. In summary, this kitchen was a hot mess.

kitchen edit 1.jpg

kitchen-edit2

The only way to fix this kitchen was to completely gut it and start from scratch. So thats just what I did.

img_4006

It’s odd that for such a large house, the kitchen is quite small. I toyed around with the idea of knocking out the wall between the kitchen and dining room to open up the space and create a breakfast bar, but there were two problems. One, the wall had plumbing and electrical wiring in it that would have to be moved. This would take more time and money. Two, the kitchen already has a breakfast nook and I have a dining room as well. Do I really need that extra space? In the end I decided not to knock down the wall, keep the formal dining room, and stick with the original galley kitchen design. I wanted to keep the structure of the house as original as possible, so I decided to design the kitchen in a way that would lighten up the space while making it seem larger and brighter.

img_4295

Instead of standard 30 inch cabinets I chose 42 inch maple wall cabinets painted white, which added additional storage and helped give the illusion of a larger kitchen. The wiring was replaced with new electrical circuits. Recessed and LED lighting replaced the fluorescent lights and drop ceiling. I chose a porcelain light gray tile for the floors that contrasted nicely with the cabinets.

Earlier in the summer I had a massive yard sale and sold enough to buy new appliances, including a dishwasher. All that hard work cleaning out and packing up endless amounts of clutter and trash paid off! Goodbye avocado fridge, hello beautiful stainless steel. I ordered a counter depth refrigerator that not only gave me an additional six inches of floor space, but also the look of a professionally designed built in fridge at a fraction of the cost.

fullsizerender-55

There will always be compromises when it comes to renovating, but one thing I would not budge on was granite. I had to have granite countertops. Initially, I wanted to go with white but the more I researched the less I liked the idea. White countertops meant most likely going with marble or quartz. Marble was expensive, and (in my opinion) not very functional for a kitchen. Quartz was even pricer then marble. My other concern was that I would go overboard with my white and bright theme and washout the entire room. As much as I drool over the kitchens with white marble galore, my wallet and I decided that it was not meant to be.

So I headed back to the granite lot, and actually found granite that I liked better but was also much cheaper! It was meant to be. Since I had saved some money on the granite, I was able to have it custom cut so that the counter extended all the way to the window and over the radiator. This not only gives it a streamlined look, but additional counter space as well!

fullsizerender-54

Out of all the rooms that have been renovated the kitchen is by far my favorite. Witnessing it transform from the dark mess it was to the beautiful and bright kitchen it is now was exhilarating and exhausting all at the same time.

Just a heads up, this is part one of a two part post. The kitchen reveal part two will unveil the breakfast nook of the kitchen, and how I incorporated some of the items left behind into my decor.

 

 

12 thoughts on “Kitchen Reveal- Part I

    1. Beautiful job!! I have a small galley kitchen and have questions, if you have time. 1) how much was the total cost. 2) where did you purchase the cabinets, they are exactly what I am looking for 3) where did you purchase the refrigerator. Excellent job and enjoy sipping morning coffee in your new kitchen, please send Part II, the “Nook”. Bev Duran

      Like

  1. OMG, you creative genus!!!! Your kitchen renovation is ABSOLUTELY GORGEOUS! What i love from the sound of it, you did most of the design and work yourself (money saving). I have a kitchen that needs an update..wouldn’t say a renovation, although i wish i had the funds to accommodate my growing family..but maybe one day. Right now i need EXACTLY what you did in brightening my very dark kitchen (so depressing)..so funny i have a basement full of cluther and tons of great fines for a local yard sale as well.. (yippie found funds). Was wondering if you’d be able to give your opinion to me as i take on my project? I’m an undecivis person and sometimes go back and forth between decions…you on the other hand had a vision which came out beautiful!..I wish you many many happy years enjoying your new kitchen!!!

    Like

  2. I want to use embossed wallpaper that can be painted on a large wall in my kitchen. Are you familiar with that ? any advice ??????///

    Like

    1. I fell in love with embossed anaglypra wall paper 30 years ago. It turned out to be the perfect coverup to walls I couldn’t afford to replace. It was beautiful and subtle with satin paint. Stunning with more elaborate applications. Highly recommend it. Practice hanging it though, the brands I used wanted to stretch a bit, and another unfortunate problem was some of my panels shrank away at the vertical meet, causing a tiny gap. Also don’t over work the paper for air gaps, it will flatten out the embossing. Good luck and post your success!

      Like

  3. Love it!! and how clever you are to have a garage sale. And wonder of all wonders…you were able to purchase the new frig. Pure genius! Clever! I can’t wait for part two.

    Like

Leave a Reply

