Upcycling Old Water Glasses

At the yard sale several weeks ago my aunt was getting rid of some water glasses. I didn’t need any glasses, but I thought these would make perfect mini planters for my kitchen window sill!


I didn’t want to see the dirt in the planter. It would clash with my white kitchen scheme and just look dirty. So I decided to spray paint them white. By choosing white I could also move them around the house and they would blend with any decor.



I sprayed one light coat to ensure the paint wouldn’t drip. Letting that sit and dry a few minutes, I moved onto the next glass. Once each glass had a coat of paint I went back and sprayed a second time, filling in any spots that had been missed. While the glasses dried I went to Home Depot and picked out several small house plants.


They are the perfect size for the window in my breakfast nook, and adds a little color to my kitchen!

One thought on “Upcycling Old Water Glasses

Leave a Reply

