Sold! Goodbye House

It’s official! My old house, and first fixer upper, has sold! This means three things:

house sold

  1. The profit from the sale increases my renovation budget, and I can afford to gut and redo the kitchen at my new place! Posts on kitchen renovation plans are coming soon. I’m so excited!
  2. I don’t have to worry about maintaining two houses. *sigh of relief from bank account*
  3. I have to pack up my current house and make the new place livable in less then 30 days. Holy sh*t.

It was great not having to live in the construction site that is my new house. It’s dusty, covered in drop cloths, and hot (no air conditioning, remember?). It also maintains that nice antique, closed in, old house moth ball smell. It gets better as each room is painted, but still lingers from the areas that haven’t been worked on yet.

There wasn’t a time crunch on renovating, so I could take my time making decisions. For example, spending two days picking out sand color for my brick patio. I’m not an indecisive person, but when it comes to putting in so much time, effort, and money I want to confirm that, yes this is what I want. Well, that luxury is gone. This past week I spent most of my time choosing paint colors, counter tops, cabinets, tile, appliances, grout color, light fixtures….the list goes on and on. It was a little overwhelming, but so far I’m very happy with my choices.

I read on an old house forum that to maintain your sanity living in a construction site you should pick one room and fix it up. This way at the end of the day you can retire to a clean and livable space, and escape the construction chaos that is now your life. So I’ve been focusing on the master bedroom the past few weeks. My goal is to have this room finished by the time I move in. As you can see I have a long way to go.

masterbededit

Just for kicks I included some pictures from my first house and renovation project. I totally forgot about the nacho yellow walls and purple carpets. Crossing my fingers the next renovation turns out as good as this one did!

oldhouse1

oldhouse4

oldhouse3

oldhouse2

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

