Picking for Smalls- Part II

This is the final Picking for Smalls post. Check out Part I if you missed it. Everything has been picked, packed, tossed or sold. That being said this post is a little longer then usual since I wanted to share some the awesome, old and just plain odd items I’ve found over the past few days.

Newspapers from 1922 through 1990s

I found this box on the floor in the basement. There was water damage on the bottom and I assumed whatever was in there was probably ruined. I was shocked when I opened the box and this is what I saw…

IMG_3594

newspaper1

One by one I pulled them out of the box. It was like I was traveling back in time. The oldest paper was from 1922. I couldn’t believe that only one paper had serious water damage.

newspaper2

Boxes/Tins Full of Rocks

When I came across multiple boxes and tins full of rocks I couldn’t believe it. Why?! I already had twenty bags of trash, and now I have to take rocks to the dump too! As much as I wanted to toss them and move on to the next thing, I noticed each rock was carefully wrapped. I set them aside to inspect later. Turns out they weren’t rocks but fossils! Crinoids and Brachiopods to be exact.

rockvsmin

IMG_3624
Well hello little brachiopods


Château Haut-Brion 1940 Wine Worth $1,200 a Bottle…

FullSizeRender-36

if it was unopened. *sigh* Researching this bottle I stumbled upon an interesting article about a man who is serving time in prison for making and selling counterfeit wine. He made over $100 million. The Chateau Haut-Brion was one of his counterfeits. I probably have the fake bottle.

Cancelled Checks (1914-1928) from the Estate of Max Plitt 

IMG_3603
I have no clue who Max Plitt is


Antique Fans

I love antique fans! I don’t know why I’m drawn to them. They’re just so cool! I found these in the basement and have plans to restore them.

IMG_3604


Antique Microscope Slides

IMG_3626
Property of the Bay Harbor Butcher?


Other Random Stuff:

Collection of antique sad and flat irons
Playbills (at least 50 or so found in the filing cabinet)
Two closets and a basement filled with artwork
Sea Sponges, usually four or five scattered around every room in the house

random

Stamp collection
Sea shells. So many sea shells. Tins, jars, in closets, boxes, even in kitchen appliances
Motorcycle parts, still in the box
Boxes of glass jars
Vintage tins and cigar boxes (enough to fill two large plastic tubs)
1920s mother of pearl opera glasses

rando1
Numerous files with clippings labeled Jokes, most of which were not funny
Five vintage wooden sleds
Records
Books (I’m still going through them, but the oldest so far has been from 1808)
Vintage luggage, hat boxes, and a steamer trunk
1920s snuff tins
Vintage crates (several were from Baltimore factories)

rando2

Leave a Reply

